By definition, “A mobile telephone, wireless phone, or cell phone (terms that are interchange) is a mobile, battery-operated electronic device used for voice or data communication over a network of cell sites, which is interconnected to the public switched telephone network.” (Safko, pg 395). Reading this made me smile because I’ve heard so many people like my father in regards to a cell phone ask, “Well does it still make calls?  That’s all I need it for!” With the first cell phone call placed on April 3, 1973, I’d say we’ve come a long ways in a short amount of time. I can think of every cell phone I’ve had and the different sizes and brands that were “cool” to have at that time.

With the projection that 1.9 billion unique users (or 30% of the world’s population) will use internet regularly and 1.4 billion of those people using the internet will be on their phones, this is a huge phenomena! Today’s cell phones allows people to download music, read from and write to a blog, surf the Web; receive their e-mail, take and share pictures and videos and speech-to-text message along with facebook, tweets and play scrabble with people all over the world. Me personally, I would say I use my blackberry in this order:  1) text messaging 2) BBM (black berry messenger) 3) take and share photos and then 4) make phone calls.  I do have my personal e-mail account set up to my phone but I do not have my work e-mail. I feel that in my titled position it is not necessary for people to have access to me 24 hours a day. However, if I was an executive director or needed to be on call, I would then consider it but I personally think the new cell phone technology cramps personal lives and times.

The list of mobile manufacturers market share listed on page 397 by GetJar.com lists Nokia with 47.22% share followed by Samsung (10.82%), Sony-Ericsson (9.08%) and then BlackBerry with 2.78% share. This boggles my mind as I find it hard to believe that BlackBerry and Apple only make up for a little over 3%. Or, is this because I’m in the generation where the BB and iPhone were invented so the 3% is mostly people my age and why I see them everywhere among my friends?

Two interesting things that stuck out in this chapter were 1) mobile devices name of the “Fourth Screen” Outside of movie, television and the PC, I would completely agree that my cell phone would be the 4th screen.  2) Mobile technology that has elicited the creation and inclusion of this new world to our every day vocab:  mobisodes?  Honestly, I’ve never heard it before nor have I ever watched a mobisde on my phone whether it be tv, movie or radio.

Lastly, I was overwhelmed with the providers section. Like many times before, I folded the page over so I can go back in my spare time (ha!) and explore some of these fourth screen applications and websites. A couple that grabbed my attention were:  Placestodo.com which helps you remember, share and find new places and things do to – which is great because I travel so much, and Socialight.com which lets you create, share and discover virtual sticky notes stuck to actual places all around you and