The definition of microblogging is a big vague in the book. From what I gathered it’s more of a MMS (Multimedia Messaging System) than just a SMS (Simple Message System) text. A tweet is considering a microblog as well as text message that might contain a photo, video or voice message.  I do like Mark Twain’s saying of, “If I had more time, I would have written a shorter letter.”  I try to follow this rule as I feel the less prepared I am for a speech, presentation or even e-mail, the more long-winded I get.

I think there are many advantages of microblogs; especially the two-way communication and instant connection between individuals around the world. However, I do NOT feel that I need to know what each of my friends had for breakfast, how far they ran in today’s workout and see 100 photos of their new pet. I often think I did just fine without knowing every detail of their life for the first 25 years of mine, and to that point, I often “hide all posts” in my news feed from certain people who are obsessed with updating their facebook.  I did find this video which I found to be pretty right on the money when talking about microblogs on facebook but I will say there is some vulgar language towards the end; so feel free to watch at your own risk.

I recently started using Tweet Deck and I think it’s been a world of help! I have it open on my screen when I’m cooking, cleaning or even watching tv and I love that it’s my “hub” for all my social media outlets. This saves me so much time without having to go to each individual website and log in.

On page 260, Twitter expert Guy Kawasaki  suggests “following every person who follows you.”  I guess I’m kind of a privacy freak because I don’t necessarily agree with this (at least on a personal level verse corporate level). I get that on Twitter I’m suppose to expand my networks and connect with “strangers” but I just don’t like everyone knowing every single thing about me; especially if someone’s following me who I don’t know!  Safko goes on to state, “This is the power of permission-based marketing, whereby you choose who is allowed to market and communicate to you.”  To his point with I firmly agree with, I now pay attention to the news more than ever by following exactly what type of information I want to receive and people I want to keep in touch with.

To end I will add a couple ways Jenny Green has used Twitter in the corporate world that’s talked about on page 266:

  • I retweeted one of UNL Student Involvement’s NSE tweets and reminded everyone to stop by the Wick Alumni Center for free daily store ice cream after their tours were done that day.
  • I tweeted to Ndamukong Suh to show continued support from Nebraska and tell him great job on his summer football camps and speaking engagements to young students (as a former student-athlete and friend)
  • And even today, I tweeted @PrudueAlumni for hosting an amazing Big Ten Alumni Conference!