To continue with my confusion of these chapters running together, I’m going to assuming that audio (an example being iTunes) can be used in videos to create a piece like an iMovie which can then be uploaded to sites like YouTube and then could be considered a Vlog depending on how it’s published to the world? Am I close Professor Bartling? (Using your favorite title!) 🙂

Well regardless if I am or not, I’ll continue with one of my favorite web findings…

While reading this chapter, I immediately thought of the website Where the Hell is Matt?  Not only is this guy a viral celebrity who’s had more than 37 MILLION views on one video, but he’s an awesome entertainer who I truly admire! I first saw this film in at a marketing convention down in Naples, Florida about 4 years ago. It was shown to use as a feel good video but also to capture the power of vblogs and what is capable from an “average joe” and a video camera.  Matt had a passion to travel so he quit his job and started this blog so his parents could track his adventures. A friend began to tape him doing his famous “bad dancing moves” and a couple months later Stride gum got ahold of him after seeing his video and offered a sponsorship for a 6 month trips around the world to all 7 continents to simply dance. He has since made two additional videos but the one below from his third trip, has become his most famous because this time, he asked the natives to dance with him.  This video is also a great demonstration of communication that is talked about in Chapter 12 on page 226 because this non-verbal communication is understood by everyone around the world:  smiles, laughter and dancing.

I’d highly encourage anyone reading this post to visit Matt’s website to be inspired by what a small project just for fun could turn into! Matt now has a geotracking system on him at all times and makes daily journals about his travels. What a great job!