As much as I love popcorn (which ironically enough I actually had tonight with my dinner), I’m not a big movie watcher. Ask any of my friends and they will tell you, I’m the last one to ever throw a famous line out there or speak in movie quotes as most of the 3rd floor in my office does. This is not because I do not LIKE movies and don’t have a personality, it’s because growing up I was so involved with sports, school, girl scouts, dance team, family time, etc that I never had two hours to go to the movies.  Unfortunately, my schedule remains just as full but now with different priorities (not to mention the $9 that I refuse to pay for a ticket!) However, I may need to start utilizing some of these sites from this chapter.

I was seriously BLOWN AWAY by the list of video sharing web sites on page 249. So much that I folded the page over to come back to after I was finished reading because I seriously thought they all can’t be real. So I went through the list and underlined the six out of near 60 that are listed!  So I started googling the most crazy ones like Crackle, Mail.ru, Viddler along with many others and guess what?  They’re all real and I’m sure there are thousands of more out there! This started a long series of questions and thoughts in my head:

  1. How do people know these sites exist and find them?
  2. It always amazes me how many millions of developed and awesome websites that are out there that I have no idea exists!?
  3. True that each one is specific and unique but do we really need this many? I know they say to spread your eggs among many baskets but is there ever too many options?
  4. Will one day the dominate sites listed like facebook, Hulu and pandora tv buyout and control the smaller sites?
  5. Who has time to visit, watch and upload to all of these?
  6. If I’m selling advertisements, I would assume you’d go for the dominate sites listed above, but I would bet there are some very targeted and LOYAL audience members that only use a couple of these smaller sites which provides a very effective and tailored message.
  7. Which do you (the reader) think is best and use the most?
  8. What FUN names!
  9. What a lot of sites that an embarrassing video of me could end up on!
Another fact that boggled my mind was from the Expert Insight on page 252 where George Strompolos, content partnerships manager of YouTube, states that “YouTube receives twenty hours of video uploaded to the site every minute!” If that isn’t enough proof to show how important videos and vblogs are becoming, I don’t know what is. Video sharing whether it’s live streaming or posting to YouTube is here and no company can deny or ignore that fact so follow the commandments on page 254 and upload, post and have fun!